Tuesday, 8 October 2019

ARC REVIEW : RUNNING FROM MY HEART BY FELICE STEVENS

47579723. sy475  



People say six years is long enough to mourn the death of his husband but for Ross Miller, the pain is as fresh as if it happened yesterday. He’s left his glittering Hollywood life behind, yet guilt still dogs his steps, no matter how far he runs. Trapped by his past and needing to escape his well-meaning friends, he rents a cabin in the secluded Adirondack mountains. A reclusive man moves in next door and piques Ross’s interest, but his persistent attempts at friendship are rebuffed. That doesn’t stop him because the one rule Ross Miller has always lived by is to never take no for an answer.

Novelist Arden Wainwright has given up. He can’t pretend a happiness he knows he’ll never find again. Solitary days turn into years, and he remains frozen, unable to take a breath. At his wit’s end, he retreats to the mountains, but it does little to stir his creativity. He continues to hide from life and avoids his overly nosy neighbor, who insists on planting himself at Arden’s doorstep at every turn. Making friends is the last thing Arden wants, but annoying or not, he can’t get the damn man out of his mind.

Finding peace in their isolated surroundings, the two lonely men forge an unlikely friendship where they realize they’re more alike than different and better together than apart. With Ross’s help, Arden begins to rebuild the shattered pieces of his life, while Arden gives Ross the strength to face his fears and find his way home. When love comes calling you can choose to hide from hurt, loss, and pain, but if you take a chance and open the door, you might discover that running from your heart is the last thing you'll want to do.



  Running from My Heart (Rock Bottom #3)Running from My Heart by Felice Stevens
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Losing someone you loved dearly and your whole life could be devastating. Unfortunately it happened with Ross and Arden. Running away from their life, they met in the middle of a nature where once they're expected to find peace.
Almost like love at first sight (or grumble), Ross and Arden found their life's back in each other's hands, rearranging back their shattered life back to (almost) normal.

Once again, this book hit close to home for me, and Felice wrote it like I wanted it to write down. The whole shattered dreams, the grieves, the hope, and finding a reason to keep on going and move on.


“People talk about their lovers being an anchor, but anchors weigh you down. You kept me afloat. You’re my life preserver. You lifted me up and kept me from sinking back into the darkness. You not only saved my life and showed me how to live it, you gave me something worth living for.”


Running From My Heart touched my heart in every way possible, and what Arden had been through before and even after years later, got me crying and wanted to hold him to my heart. But he got Ross,the bad boy with a tortured pastwho's willingly loving him with all his heart.

Running From My Heart was a beautiful story about second chances, and finding love again in a place you'll never thought you'll find.
Ross and Arden will stay with me for a very long time. Thank you Felice Stevens !

View all my reviews Running from My Heart (Rock Bottom #3)Running from My Heart by Felice Stevens
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Losing someone you loved dearly and your whole life could be devastating. Unfortunately it happened with Ross and Arden. Running away from their life, they met in the middle of a nature where once they're expected to find peace.
Almost like love at first sight (or grumble), Ross and Arden found their life's back in each other's hands, rearranging back their shattered life back to (almost) normal.

Once again, this book hit close to home for me, and Felice wrote it like I wanted it to write down. The whole shattered dreams, the grieves, the hope, and finding a reason to keep on going and move on.


“People talk about their lovers being an anchor, but anchors weigh you down. You kept me afloat. You’re my life preserver. You lifted me up and kept me from sinking back into the darkness. You not only saved my life and showed me how to live it, you gave me something worth living for.”




Running From My Heart touched my heart in every way possible, and what Arden had been through before and even after years later, got me crying and wanted to hold him to my heart. But he got Ross,the bad boy with a tortured pastwho's willingly loving him with all his heart.

Running From My Heart was a beautiful story about second chances, and finding love again in a place you'll never thought you'll find.
Ross and Arden will stay with me for a very long time. Thank you Felice Stevens !





All pictures are belongs to the author.

View all my reviews

RELEASE BLITZ AND REVIEW : Best Man Close Proximity Lily Morton

Picture_20191002_173556923
Best Man
Close Proximity
Lily Morton
M/M Romance
Release Blitz: 10.03.19
FB_IMG_1570052596673
Blurb
Zeb Evans doesn’t do messy.
The product of a disorganised and chaotic childhood, Zeb likes order and control, and as the boss of his own employment agency he can give that to himself. Life runs along strict lines and he never mixes business with pleasure. Everything in his life lives in neat, alphabetized boxes. Until Jesse.
Jesse Reed is Zeb’s complete opposite. He’s chaos personified. A whirling cyclone of disorder. He’s also charming and funny and a very unwanted distraction.
Which is why it comes as a complete surprise to Zeb to find himself asking Jesse to pose as his boyfriend for a few days in the country at a wedding.
Zeb doesn’t do impulsive, but as the time away progresses, he finds himself increasingly drawn to the merry and irreverent Jesse. But can he bring himself to break the hard-won lessons he’s learnt in life? And even if he can, how could Jesse be attracted to him anyway? He’s so much older than Jesse, not to mention being his boss.
From the bestselling author of the Mixed Messages and Finding Home series comes a warm and funny romance about one man’s fight for control and another man’s determination to circumvent it.
This is the first book in the Close Proximity series, but it can be read as a standalone.
Universal link
BestMan-LM-Teaser1BestMan-LM-Teaser3BestMan-LM-Teaser2
Excerpt He looks at me and sighs wearily. “Do you think you could possibly behave?” he finally says. I bite my lip. “I don’t think it would be entirely honest of me to promise that,” I say slowly. “Especially if people keep treating you like you’re some sort of desperate stalker. It’s not fair.” I frown. “You’re doing bloody Patrick a favour. They should be thanking you, not treating you like an unexploded bomb from the war that might go off in suburbia and wreck someone’s lavender bush.” He blinks. “Where the hell did that come from?” He pauses. “And why am I the unexploded relic from the war?” I smile at him sympathetically. “You have a lot of pent-up aggression,” I inform him.
FB_IMG_1570052267267
Lily writes contemporary romance novels, and specialises in hot love stories with a good dose of humour. Lily lives in sunny England with her husband and two children, all of whom claim that they haven’t had a proper conversation with her since she bought her first Kindle. She has spent her life with her head full of daydreams and decided one day to just sit down and start writing about them. In the process she discovered that she actually loved writing, because how else could she get to spend her time with hot, funny men! She loves chocolate and Baileys and the best of all creations – chocolate Baileys! Her lifetime’s ambition is to have a bath in peace without being shouted by one of her family. Facebook Author Facebook Profile Website

MichelleSlagan---VibrantPromotionsLogo---FiveStarDesigns---150ppi







Best Man (Close Proximity #1)Best Man by Lily Morton
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is why Lily Morton's book has easily becomes my favourite comfort read. The banter are stellar, and hilarious.
But never cheap, because Lily also put some twist, right to your heart.
Best man is about all I love in my book, age gap, funny banter, right portion of twist and a tiny bit of angst.
And Jesse! OMG I loved Jesse, while I wanted to punch Zeb sometimes, because his too stupid to realise that Patrick used him.
Best Man was a fun, unputdownable read I always craved from Lily Morton.
Highly recommended.

View all my reviews

Monday, 7 October 2019

Cover Reveal - Confessions: Bailey by Ella Frank





Confessions: Bailey
By Ella Frank

Black and white. Right and wrong.
That’s how Craig Bailey has always lived his life.
The son of a fallen, decorated police officer,
he’s had no choice but to follow the rules.
Until he met the ultimate bad boy
and decided to follow him instead.
Henri Boudreaux is everything Bailey never knew he wanted.
Mysterious, sexy, and hiding more secrets than friends.
He’s exactly the kind of man Bailey knows could break his heart.
But there’s a vulnerability to Henri that calls to Bailey.
A longing for a connection that Bailey is unable to resist.
And while Bailey has always lived his life on the straight and narrow, he is now
beginning to understand that falling in love is never so black and white.


👮‍♂️ RELEASE DATE 👮‍♂️
OCTOBER 28TH, 2019
- GORGEOUS COVER DESIGN (for this ENTIRE series) BY: Hang Le
- STUNNING PHOTOGRAPH BY: Dylan Rosser Photography
- THE PERFECT “BAILEY” MODEL: Ashley Morris @inkedupashley
🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥

PRE-ORDER Confessions: Bailey now!
👮‍♂️ CONFESSIONS: BAILEY (Confessions Series #6)
Amazon US: https://amzn.to/2ZD5u7H
Amazon Universal: https://mybook.to/confessionsbailey
And if you haven’t already met Henri & Bailey, you can do so right here in Confessions: Henri (Confessions Series #5)
🔥 CONFESSIONS: HENRI (Confessions: Henri #5)
Amazon US: https://amzn.to/2YHzBJv
Amazon Universal: https://mybook.to/confessionshenri
GR: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/46943602-henri

Sunday, 22 September 2019

RECOMMENDED READ! ARC REVIEW : Tallowwood by N.R. Walker

47997473. sy475  

Cold cases, murder, lies, and an unimaginable truth.

Sydney detective August Shaw has spent the last decade of work solving cold cases. Since the death of his boyfriend eight years ago, August works alone, lives alone, is alone — and that’s exactly how he likes it. His work is his entire life, and he’s convinced a string of unsolved cold-case suicides are linked to what could be Australia’s worst ever serial killer. Problem is, no one believes him.

Senior Constable Jacob Porter loves his life in the small town of Tallowwood in the middle of the rainforests in northern New South Wales. He runs summer camps for the local Indigenous kids, plays rugby with his mates, has a close family, and he’s the local LGBTQIA+ Liaison and the Indigenous Liaison Officer.

When human remains are found in the camping grounds at Tallowwood Reserve, Jake’s new case turns out to be linked to August’s cold cases, and Jake agrees they’re not suicides at all. With Jacob now firmly in August’s corner, they face one hurdle after another, even when more remains are found, they still can’t seem to gain ground.

But when the body of a fellow police officer turns up under the same MO, it can’t be ignored anymore. August and Jake must trace the untraceable before the killer takes his next victim or before he stops one of them, permanently.





  TallowwoodTallowwood by N.R. Walker
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


WOW! THIS BOOK! I CAN SAY THIS ONE WAS THE BEST OF NIC WALKER SO FAR!.

I was hooked since the first chapter, loving every minutes following Jake and August's journey of solving a mystery. Not just a mystery, but one with a very personal intact.
I have no words how to described this gem, it was just I was mesmerized by Nic Walker's writing this time, more that any other books she had written.
I was just cannot put this book down, and upset when work interrupted it.

Tallowwood was a fast paced, intense, and stole my breath away.


Been slumped with some unresolved cold cases, with minimum support from his superiors, August working alone trying to find out who murdered his loved ones eight years ago, Christopher. The case closed with one conclusion, 'suicide' .
But August knew Christopher and he knew that Christopher didn't kill himself, it was murder. As many cases he'd been working on, with the same patterns.
Until Jake called him and asked him for help to solved one case in Tallowwood.
Many layers opened one by one, until they found out the real reason, and the murderer started to worried and needed to stop Jake and August.

Reading this, was like looking back at what I enjoyed back then when I red and savored murder and mystery books, and Nic Walker just like wrote this book for me, for my personal enjoyment.
Reading Tallowwood was like coming home.

And I was glad I was given the book for an advance reading. Jake and August has easily become my favorite couple, and this book will stay with me for a long time. Because, Tallowwood is definitely one of those book I will read again, and again, and praise the author for writing a brilliant book (with a romance) in it.








View all my reviews

Tuesday, 10 September 2019

HAPPY FOR YOU by Anyta Sunday: Review and Release Blitz




Happy For You by Anyta Sunday

Series: Love & Family

Publisher: Anyta Sunday (self-published)

Release Date (Print & Ebook): September 10, 2019

Length (Print & Ebook): 60,000 words

Subgenre: Contemporary Gay Romance

Warnings: Depression (affecting a side character)

Order now: https://www.anytasunday.com/projects/happy-for-you/

Book blurb:

Mort wants his de facto family back. . . .
He knows he doesn’t deserve them. Not yet, anyway. Not without making up for leaving them in their time of need.
But it’s not easy to make amends. Mort must show how much he wants the Rochester family back in his life. When his best friend’s younger brother, Felix, has his license suspended, Mort jumps at the chance to play chauffeur and to win back the family he desperately wants to call his own.
Repairing his broken relationships—with all five Rochester siblings—becomes Mort’s personal mission. Especially with Felix. Felix, who used to follow him everywhere. Felix, who idolized him. Felix, whom Mort has not stopped thinking about . . .

Felix is just trying to keep it together. . . .
With a perma-smile as his armor, he’s determined to make his family happy. Determined to be a positive role model to his three younger sisters, while their mum struggles with depression after her kidney transplant.
Unfortunately, no amount of smiling can save his license when he gets pulled over for the umpteenth time, and he still needs to get his sisters to school, soccer, and dance classes.
The solution to his problem emerges in the return of their prodigal neighbor, Mort. Mort, who left their lives without a word. Mort, who was in love with Felix’s older brother.
Mort, who is the last guy Felix wants charging back into their lives. . . .

Mort and Felix. Two guys bound by a rocky past—
—a past they must come to terms with to find true happiness in the here and now.

~-~-~

Set in New Zealand, Happy For You (Love & Family #3) is an MM gay romance featuring two guys pitted together in a blue 1988station wagon—and there’s no doubt about it, Mort is going to drive Felix crazy.

Can be read as a standalone.

Tropes: brother’s best friend, second chances, family drama, friends-to-lovers, slow burn, found family
Genre: New Adult, light-hearted contemporary gay romance
Trigger warnings: Depression and generalized anxiety (of a side character)



Release Blitz Teaser 1:

Felix eyes me sleepily. “That’s one wild frown.”
I readjust my cap. “Tailored just for you.”
His cheeks dimple. “What’s the matter?”
“Are you in the mood to talk?”
Felix pushes himself upright, leaving a smear of condensation on the glass. “About what?”
“Everything.”
He squints, hesitant. “Define everything.”
“How’s your mum doing?”
A whimper-laugh drizzles out of him. “I’d rather talk about the sorry state of my love life.”
“How sorry are we talking?”
He stares at me blankly. “You first.”
I laugh. “Remember when I dragged you for coffee at Zealandia Café and we bumped into my colleague Jack and—”
“And Ben McCormick. Trust me, a week is not long enough to erase the embarrassment of almost toppling into them.”
“Jack’s the guy I’ve been flirting with at work.”
Felix gives me a standard cardboard smile. Those smiles are pissing me off. His days are littered with them.
I fight back a growl. “I’m fairly sure he’s a lost cause.”
“Considering he wedged his hand into Ben’s back pocket, I’d say he is.” Felix stares at passing cars. “Are you gutted?”
“He’s a decent guy. Hot and charming but mostly just a distraction.”
Felix whips his head toward me. “From what?”
I give him a pointed look.
“From missing us,” he murmurs.
Yeah. From that tiny ache that’s ripping me open.
“Do you miss us all equally?” Felix claps his mouth shut. “Forget it. That’s like asking a parent who their favorite child is. No matter how untrue, they’ll swear they don’t have one.”
I peer at him through the rearview mirror. “I missed you all equally.”
“You’ll make a good parent.” He drops back in his seat, and catches my eye, mouth twisted toward a smile. A real one this time.
I want more of his smiles. I want Felix to see what we could have together. Want to graduate from “chauffeur” to Guy He Has Fun With.
Felix clears his throat and clicks his seatbelt open. “I should get inside.”
“Tiffany has an hour left.” I eye the arcade. “We can use it.”
Felix hums. “Yeah, okay. We’re out of parchment paper and detergent. The Warehouse is still open. We can swing by.”
Parchment paper and detergent? That’s how he wants to spend a free hour? Felix doesn’t know how much he needs me. “Out of the car, sunshine.”
“What?”
“Hop out, or I’m coming around and making a show of opening your door.”





Release Blitz Q&A with Anyta Sunday:

What is the significance of the title “Happy For You”?

AS: This book’s all about happiness – where to find it for ourselves, how to make others happy, and how to live with the fact that we can’t make everyone around us happy.  Mort and Felix have to learn it the hard way: if they’re both only trying to make others happy, they’ll lose sight of themselves. They have to find their own happiness first to finally be happy together.

What were the key challenges you faced when writing this book?

AS: While every book has its own challenges, this one was special because it features a large family that wanted to have ample space on the page. To give all of them their rightful place was not easy, but they all demanded to be heard ☺ This spring and summer, when I worked on “Happy For You”, was also a time of transitions for my family – from my son changing schools to me transitioning to a new diet, so finding time for the book wasn’t always easy.

Are you working on anything at the present you would like to share with your readers about?

AS: I am always working :D At the moment, I’m diving back into astrology and star signs, and tackling book 5 in the “Signs of Love” series. A Cancer and an Aquarius are the lucky couple in this one, and I’m already having so much fun with them. It’s quite emotional, but just like all the other SoL books, also full of banter and romantic comedy!

Where do you draw inspiration from?

AS: Inspiration is all around Рwalking the streets, seeing a couple interact at the caf̩, getting a lovely message from my husband. So many things can spark an idea, like a smell that brings back a memory or a piece of music that becomes alive in my head. I try to soak it all in and scribble it down as soon as possible.
Do you have any new series planned?

AS: There are a few ideas currently swirling in my head, and I never know how they’ll finally arrive on the page. One series idea I just cannot stop thinking about is what I call the “Love Shack” in my head. A beachside house that brings different roommates together, always sparking new misadventures and love stories! Another idea is a cozy, super sweet and romantic mystery. But whatever series comes next, you can be sure it’ll be full of slow burn romance!

About Anyta Sunday:

I'm a big, BIG fan of slow-burn romances. I love to read and write stories with characters who slowly fall in love. Some of my favorite tropes to read and write are: Enemies to Lovers, Friends to Lovers, Clueless Guys, Bisexual, Pansexual, Demisexual, Oblivious MCs, Everyone (Else) Can See It, Slow Burn, Love Has No Boundaries. I write a variety of stories, Contemporary MM Romances with a good dollop of angst, Contemporary lighthearted MM Romances, and even a splash of Fantasy. My books have been translated into German, Italian, French, Spanish, and Thai.

Connect with Anyta:


Giveaway:

Prize: Enter to win one complete paperback set of the Love & Family series: Taboo for You, Made for You, and Happy for You, or, one of three e-books of Happy for You. Prizes are open internationally. Must be 18 to enter and win.

Code: <a class="rcptr" href="http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/88d45f03100/" rel="nofollow" data-raflid="88d45f03100" data-theme="classic" data-template="" id="rcwidget_1xd65xlk">a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>
<script src="https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js"></script>

Link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/88d45f03100/


 REVIEW

 Happy for You (Love & Family #3)Happy for You by Anyta Sunday
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Running away from the past and the love of your life is never easy.
So when Mort came back suddenly into Felix's life,it's hard not to get angry at him. Forgiving Mort also not as easy.
But Mort had his own reason for leaving, and wow what a reason! He didn't need it at all. And Mort's actually didn't need any forgiveness from Felix and his family. If only Felix knew from the beginning!

Happy for You is Anyta's bittersweet romance that I crave from her. I felt what Mort and Felix went through. The love, the want, the long for a dream come true, and the fear of losing a family.
Happy for You is Anyta's classic you don't want to miss.

Recommended!

View all my reviews

Sunday, 18 August 2019

ARC REVIEW : Long Way Home by Nicky James

47805139. sx318


It was love at first sight. 
They were soulmates. 
It was forever. 
But they were only sixteen. 
Too innocent. Too naïve. 
Too ignorant about the world around them. 
Besides, nothing lasts forever. 
With their fairy-tale future torn to shreds, both boys need to learn to find their own way in an unforgiving world. 

Gavin Buchanan is thrown into a life he didn’t want, molded to do a job he always feared. He must learn to get by, but with only his brothers in arms to lean on and secrets so deep they eat at his core every day, he struggles. How long until life in the Marine Corps turns this gentle, tender-hearted man into someone no one recognizes? 
Owen Wallace is adrift and going through the motions. Every time he tries to stand tall and put the past behind him, life kicks him down. There is only so much a person can take before they turn bitter and jaded. It wasn’t supposed to be this way. 
Their souls are bound to each other. 
Nothing will keep them apart. 
It will take time, but they just need to find their way home. 

**Triggers for PTSD**




Long Way HomeLong Way Home by Nicky James
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I couldn’t look away from those swirling blue eyes. Eyes I’d seen every time I closed my own for years. Eyes that came to me in my dreams. Eyes that soothed and tormented in equal measure. My heart didn’t know if it should clench or race or swell, and my poor lungs gave up as I held my breath.


Wow!
Saying this book was sad, angsty, rollercoaster, is an understatement.
Long Way Home is the kind of book that gave you lots of feelings, sweet, blushing, angry, sad, frustrated, depression, knots in your stomach and the feeling of being betrayed, jealousy, angry, angry, angry...mostly angry.

Con :This book was THICK of angst, death, homophobic, a long journey to find each other and hookups while they're not together (this is the most disturbing thing for me).
Pro : the writing was stellar, chemistry between the two MC was thick, lovely friendships, made me cry (which I love sometimes).

Owen is Gavin's first (and only) love, right from the start when he saw Owen, the adorable Owen. All Gavin can think of is Owen. Owen is his whole world, his happily ever after kind of fairy tales he dream of.
Owen and Gavin both sixteen at the time.
Life is easy, happy, and both boys are so naive about life.
But life happened somehow, and their life were not as beautiful as they wanted to. It was ugly, rough, mean and destroyed the pure Gavin and Owen along the way.

This book spare sixteen years of their life, sixteen years full of bump road, ugliness, angst, and they're not really together for eight years. The ugliest eight years of their life. My heart was broken for Gavin. And I really wanted to kill his father for being the cause of it.
This was where I'm not happy about it, his father deserved more punishment in his life, but no closure except a divorce. Gavin practically alone in this world, I'm glad he had Niko, his best friend. While Owen had Lorenzo to be his shoulder to cry on.

Eight years of come and go, love and hate, together and separation, together and being with other people (I don't call it cheating, it was just young love need more to learn that sometimes life is not that pretty and they need to meet other people before finding their HEA).

Long Way Home is not a book for a weak heart like me, but I read it anyway, I cannot stop thinking about it anyway, I can't stop hating the the author for making Gavin and Owen's life miserable.
But in the end, I have to admit that this book consumed me to the level 'I need medicine' for my pain in my stomach and my head.
I wanted to give this book one star, but it won't be fair.
To me, this is one of those great book that you don't want to re-read it in the future. Once is enough.
I'm miserable enough. But happy for Gavin and Owen that finally their hell on earth ended beautifully. And I loved the ending so much.

Five stars

View all my reviews