Friday, 27 November 2020

FORGET ME NOT by FELICE STEVENS

Title: Forget Me Not
Author: Felice Stevens
Genre: MM Romance (Cowboy)
Release Date: November 24, 2020


Texas cowboy Shea Montgomery has plans. Big plans. Still mourning the loss of his beloved father, he’s ready to sell the Forget Me Not ranch. He’s finally dusting off his boots, packing up his cowboy hat, and moving to New York City. Maybe he won’t have his horse to ride or a place to call home, but he’s taking his modeling career to the next level and making his dreams come true. First, though, he has to deal with a bunch of corporate types who don’t know the front end of a horse from the back.

Especially this one guy who can’t seem to stay out of trouble.

Or out of Shea’s mind.

Jake Axelrod’s perfect family is shattered when his daughter stops speaking and his husband ends their marriage. Two years later, she remains locked in silence and Jake has closed himself off. His life is structured to the minute, and Jake is convinced he’ll be alone forever, until he’s forced to attend a company retreat at a dude ranch in Texas where he meets a cowboy who sends him spinning out of control.

Jake can’t help falling…off his horse, out of a rowboat, and into Shea’s arms.

And Shea is more than willing to catch him.

Neither man wants to let go, and the time they spend together—whether in New York City or Texas—only makes it harder to be apart. A decision needs to be made: work it out or say good-bye. Jake’s life is in New York, but he can’t walk away from Shea or the ranch, and Shea must decide if the dream of a lifetime will lead him right back to the place where he started, where his heart belongs.








Felice Stevens has always been a romantic at heart. She believes that while life is tough, there is always a happy ending just around the corner. Her characters have to work for it, however. Like life in NYC, nothing comes easy, and that includes love.
She lives in New York City and has way too much black in her wardrobe yet can't stop buying "just one more pair" of black pants. Felice is a happily addicted Bravo and Say Yes to the Dress addict and proud of it. And let's not get started on House Hunters. Her dream day starts out with iced coffee and ends with Prosecco, because...why shouldn't it? You can find her procrastinating on FB in her reader group, Felice's Breakfast Club.
You can find all my books, grouped by series in proper reading order on my website located here:
Follow me on social media to keep up with all my news of releases, sales and exclusive content!
Discover my character inspirations for all my books on my Pinterest Boards here:


HOSTED BY:
 
Forget Me NotForget Me Not by Felice Stevens
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


This is the book that's so good, you want to finish it and don't want to finish it.
Forget Me Not is so good, sexy, heartwarming.
That's what Felice Steven's writing always do to me.
Another reason she's my favorite!❤️❤️❤️

Forget Me Not is a proved that Felice and cowboys are a thing.
The chemistry between Jake and Shea, and the chemistry between Shea and Jake's daughter Stacey are off the chart amazing! Shea's acceptance that Jake has a daughter, and how he fell in love with Stacey and Jake at the same time, was like a dream comes true for Jake.

It pained me reading what made Stacey didn't talk two years ago, a child shouldn't have to experienced such thing in their life. But thanks to Forget Me Not ranch, and Rambo the horse, and all animals there. Also the love and patience Shea gave to Jake's little girl, wins my heart.
Shea is the best and only one for Jake. No one beats that.
Like many of Felice books I loved, this one is about family and how important the family bond is.
Because at the end of the day, it's family that we comes home to.
Sigh.
Recommended!


View all my reviews

Tic-Tac-Mistletoe by NR Walker


Tic-Tac-Mistletoe
| NR Walker

Genre: MM Holiday Romance

Release date: November 27, 2020

Tropes:

  • One Aussie, one American
  • A snowstorm
  • Christmas cookies
  • A dog called Chutney
  • Laughs, tears, and all the feels

Amazon Universal:http://mybook.to/TicTacMistletoe

 

Synopsis:

Hamish Kenneally is moving from Australia to the US for a fresh start, beginning with Christmas at his sister’s place in Idaho. When a snowstorm diverts his plane to Montana and leaves him stranded two days before Christmas, he hires a car and drives right into a blizzard.

Ren Brooks has always called Hartbridge, Montana, and his family hardware store, home. After a few failed attempts at love, he’s resigned to being single forever—after all, no guy wants to stay in his sleepy little town for long. And after his dad’s passing earlier in the year, Ren’s Christmas is looking bleak. But when a car runs off the road in front of his property, Ren pulls the driver out and takes him home to get out of the cold.

With the storm and the holidays leaving Hamish with nowhere else to go, Ren kindly offers a place to stay. Hamish is certain he’s crashed right into a Hallmark Christmas movie, despite more car delays and road closures and the prospect of not seeing his sister for Christmas. And with help from Hamish, Ren is beginning to feel a little Christmas cheer.

These two unlikely strangers have more in common than they first realise, and after two days of Christmas decorations, cookies, and non-stop conversation, it looks like Christmas might be saved after all.




Excerpt:

A totally catastrophic, unmitigated disaster.

What is a totally catastrophic, unmitigated disaster, you might ask?

Let me break it down for you real quick.

My life, my relationship, my job, my plans, my future, and this whole damn trip.

So, basically me.

Me.

I am the totally catastrophic unmitigated disaster.

Hamish Kenneally, thirty-one-year-old Australian, who quit his shitty job and sold his shitty apartment and left behind his shitty life in Sydney, packed his said-shitty life into two suitcases, and boarded a plane to spend Christmas with his sister in God-knows-where, Idaho, USA.

Well, Christmas first. Then two years, at least, in America trying to unshitify his life.

And if the trip to said God-knows-where, Idaho, was any indication of just how spectacularly extra-shitified my life was going to get, I should have turned around and stayed right where I was.

Because if the flight from Sydney to LA was bad, which it was, then the second flight, LA to Spokane, made the first flight look like a joy ride.

Because I didn’t get to Spokane, did I?

Oh no, of course I didn’t.

Because you see, Christmastime in America is in winter. Which is weird enough for this Australian. Christmas should be hot summer days at the beach, seafood and salads, beers and watching the bronzed surfers and drunk foreigners at Bondi. That is what Christmas should be.

None of this “sorry folks; to avoid flying into a massive snow blizzard, we’re being diverted to Missoula, Montana” crap the captain of the plane said when we were halfway there. Like the screaming baby in the seat next to me, or the vomiting lady in the row in front of me weren’t bad enough. Like we had any choice about which direction we were flying into.

I had no choice. I was now going to Montana. In a freaking blizzard, of all things. Ever been on a plane that flew into a snowstorm? There is zero joy in that kind of turbulence, believe me. It would also explain the screaming baby and the vomiting woman. And the man behind me saying Hail Mary’s . . . which you’d think might be comforting. But oh boy, is it ever not. Especially when he yelled the prayer every time we hit a particularly large pothole in the sky on the descent. Honestly, if this flight was a scene in a movie, you’d think it was too ridiculous to be real.

After the plane landed—to which I would have clapped and cheered like everyone else if I wasn’t stuck in the brace position after trying to kiss my own arse goodbye—we were kicked off the plane without so much as a good luck in the wrong bloody state.

So there I was, a clueless Aussie, after flying for twenty hellish-hours and now a few hundred kilometres from where I was supposed to be, trying to wrangle two overweight suitcases down the concourse, when one little wheel on my suitcase broke.

Because of course it did.

Frazzled and trying not to cry— Yes, cry. A thirty-one-year-old man can cry; shove your toxic masculinity in your cakehole and stop judging me. I was having a jetlag-fuelled shitastic day meltdown, trying to keep my shit together the best I could, and clearly not doing it very well. I was allowed a little saltwater leakage.

Anyway, getting back to my story. I tried to call my sister.

No signal.

Because of course there’s not.

So, taking a deep breath and willing myself not to spiral, I found my car rental kiosk. Finally, something is going right. “I have a car booked,” I said, trying to keep my now-broken suitcase upright with my foot while rifling through my backpack for my booking confirmation and driver’s licence. After dropping my passport and half the contents from my backpack all over the floor, then scrambling to collect it all while still trying to keep my suitcase upright, I handed everything over with a flourish of triumph. “Oh, that flight was the worst,” I said, sagging onto the counter. I was about to tell her all about my day from the ninth circle of hell when she looked up at me with that look.

You know the one.

The look of superficial appeasement before they cut you off at the knees. “I’m sorry, sir. But I don’t have a reservation under your name.”

I stared at her. My brain short-circuited and the will to live left my body. It was an actual out-of-body experience, I’m sure of it. I could see myself staring at her, mouth gaping like I’d been lobotomised.

Because of course they didn’t have my booking.

Why would they? My rental car was waiting for me in Spokane. In Washington. Not in freaking Montana.

“Oh,” I whispered, and my left eye twitched. “That’s nice.” I looked around the airport, at the line of annoyed people behind me. “Excellent. I’ve seen that movie where Tom Hanks lives in an airport. It wasn’t so bad. Could be worse. Could’ve been the one where he’s stuck on the island, I guess. Though I didn’t pack a volleyball, so that would’ve sucked.”

She blinked and tap-tap-tapped away at her keyboard. “But sir, we’ve had a lot of cancelled flights today because of the weather. I can arrange a vehicle for you, if you’d like?”

Oh, my sweet baby Jesus in a manger, why didn’t she lead with that?




N.R. Walker Bio

N.R. Walker is an Australian author, who loves her genre of gay romance. She loves writing and spends far too much time doing it, but wouldn’t have it any other way.

She is many things: a mother, a wife, a sister, a writer. She has pretty, pretty boys who live in her head, who don’t let her sleep at night unless she gives them life with words.

She likes it when they do dirty, dirty things… but likes it even more when they fall in love.

She used to think having people in her head talking to her was weird, until one day she happened across other writers who told her it was normal.

She’s been writing ever since…

For more about N.R. Walker you can find her at:

Website

Facebook

Facebook Author Page

Twitter

Instagram

Amazon

Audible

Bookbub

Email:

nrwalker@nrwalker.net

Tic-Tac-MistletoeTic-Tac-Mistletoe by N.R. Walker
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Hamish wanted a Hallmark Christmas, he got a Hallmark Christmas. At least until he met Ren, a villager lumberjack he thought a grizzly bear.
Hamish is that hilarious. And cute and adorable, and I love Hamish to bits!
This book is so perfect, funny, full of fees, and love.
Clicked and connected from the start, Ren and Hamish wishing for possibilities, if the thing between them could work and finally find what they were looking for all this time.
Gosh, Nic Walker and her romantic stories!
Tic-Tac-Mistletoe is a Hallmark cheesy story we're all craved for this season, especially when 2020 is not over yet and we're still prisoner in our home, and dreaming of a white normal holiday season!
Hamish and Ren are definitely made for each other, and made this holiday season bearable.
Re-reading is in order. Recommended, this book is perfection!

View all my reviews

Monday, 16 November 2020

BLOG TOUR & REVIEW - GINGERBREAD MISTLETOE by AMY AISLIN

BLOG TOUR

Book Title: Gingerbread Mistletoe

Author: Amy Aislin

Publisher: Self-published

Cover Artist: Natasha Snow

Series: Lighthouse Bay #2

Genre/s: Contemporary m/m holiday romance

Trope/s: Enemies to lovers, small town, forced proximity

Heat Rating: 2 flames 

Length: 62,000 words 

It’s book two in the Lighthouse Bay series, but can be read as a standalone. 

Goodreads

 

Buy Links - Available in Kindle Unlimited

Universal Amazon Link  |  Amazon US  |   Amazon UK 

 

  

Blurb

The last thing Jeff wants is to spend time with the man who totaled his car—the one he spent years restoring with his late father. But if he wants to resurrect his childhood town’s annual outdoor hockey tournament, he’s got no choice.

The last thing Mika wants is to work with the guy who took off right after the accident, without ensuring he was okay. And working together on organizing Jeff’s proposed tournament sounds like a complete nightmare. He’s got enough on his plate after surviving cancer.

Sparks fly as they’re forced to work together, but is that enough for them to set their differences aside and pull off the tournament in only two weeks? Or will they prove to be immune to the magic of Christmas?




Excerpt

Standing, he held a hand out to the man who was so much his type it was almost laughable. Three or four inches taller than Mika’s own five-ten height, dark brown hair that shone red under the warehouse’s lights, like the deepest shade of mahogany, with charcoal-gray at the temples and above his ears, and lines that fanned out from narrow eyes a dark shade of blue. A high forehead in a heart-shaped face and the physique of a footballer completed the package.

All of that wouldn’t have been a big deal on its own, but the way he held himself with the cool confidence of someone who knew his place in the world?

Yowza. Talk about Mika’s type wrapped in a black wool coat and a stubbled jaw more gray than brown. He’d have been giving Jeff his number if the guy wasn’t scowling at him.

Wait, that scowl . . .

Jeff stared at his outstretched hand. “No.”

“Uh.” Rearing back, Mika dropped his arm back to his side. “Excuse me?”

Zach crept up behind him, gaze swinging from Mika to Jeff. “What’s wrong?”

Jeff waved a hand at Mika. “This is the guy you want me to work with?” He put special emphasis on this, as though Mika were a criminal who’d steal his wallet when he wasn’t looking. Straightening his spine, Mika planted his hands on his hips.

Zach blinked once. “Yes?”

Holland Stone—Zach’s boyfriend and Mika’s ex—approached from where he’d been working on his float for the parade, clad in a dusty T-shirt and even dustier jeans. He squinted at Jeff before turning to Zach and Mika. “You two okay?” He held a hammer in one hand like he meant to wield it. Not that he ever would, but the image would’ve made Mika chuckle had he not been so confused.

And frankly? Kind of hurt. What the hell had he ever done to this guy?

“I can’t work with him.” There was no give in Jeff’s tone.

“Why not?” Zach stepped in close to Mika, butting in against his left side. “Mika’s the best.”

Aw. The ire in Mika’s chest faded a little at Zach’s words. It was nice of him to say, especially since Mika had made the worst of first impressions on him last Christmas.

The amount of disgust in Jeff’s scoff would’ve been impressive had it not been directed at Mika. “I’m not working with the guy who totaled my dad’s car.”

Mika’s head jerked back. “What?”

Zach and Holland swung their gazes his way.

“I didn’t!” Taking a step back, he raised both hands. “I’ve never totaled anybody’s car in my life.”

“Oh no?” Jeff argued, raising both eyebrows, and god, the sarcasm. “Not even a turquoise 1956 Chevy Nomad near the Bluffs in Pacific Palisades? About this time last year? Ring any bells?”

That was where Mika knew this guy from! Jesus, he was still holding a grudge? “Okay, first of all, I apologized, like, seven times. Second, I gave you my number. It’s not my problem that you didn’t call. Like I said—I would’ve paid to get it fixed. And third.” Leaning over the desk, he narrowed his eyes on a squinty-eyed Jeff Bellmoor. “Totaled?”

Jeff winced. “Fine. That’s maybe the wrong word.” Uttered so begrudgingly, it was a miracle he managed to say the words at all. “But like I said—it’s not about the damage.”

A huff of exasperation escaped Mika and he threw his hands up. “I don’t know what that means.” He hadn’t known then either.

“Never mind.” Rubbing his forehead, Jeff turned away. “You wouldn’t understand.”

 

 

About the Author  

 

Amy's lived with her head in the clouds since she first picked up a book as a child, and being fluent in two languages means she's read a lot of books! She first picked up a pen on a rainy day in fourth grade when her class had to stay inside for recess. Tales of treasure hunts with her classmates eventually morphed into love stories between men, and she's been writing ever since. She writes evenings and weekends—or whenever she isn't at her full-time day job saving the planet at Canada's largest environmental non-profit.

An unapologetic introvert, Amy reads too much and socializes too little, with no regrets. She loves connecting with readers. Join her Facebook Group, Amy Aislin’s Readers, to stay up-to-date on upcoming releases and for access to early teasers, find her on Instagram and Twitter, or sign up for her infrequent newsletter.

 

Author Links

Website  |  Facebook group  |  Facebook page  |  Facebook

Newsletter  |  Instagram  |  BookBub  |  Twitter  

Pinterest  |  Goodreads  |  QueeRomance Ink

 


Giveaway 

Enter the Rafflecopter Giveaway for a chance to win

signed paperback of Gingerbread Mistletoe

a Rafflecopter giveaway

https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/c8c1c64116/

   
Gingerbread Mistletoe (Lighthouse Bay, #2)Gingerbread Mistletoe by Amy Aislin
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


There's always a second chance and later explanation for Mika after what he had done in the past to Holland Christmas Lane , and it's all make sense to me.
Enter Jeff who's still cannot let go of his past and together they're trying to deal with that.
I liked how much efforts Jeff did after he set his mind that he wanted Mike all for himself, speaking of a real efforts!
I always love stories with little town setting, reminds me of my own hometown, and one little town in UK where I dreamt to spend my retirement, Bibury.
This is a very low to none angst and an easy adorable read we needed in this time of 2020.
Sure it's not easy but stories like this helps a lot!
Cannot wait for the next book in the series!

View all my reviews

Sunday, 15 November 2020

Release Blitz & Review Strawberry Kisses by Charlie Novak

Banner

Release Blitz, Excerpt & Giveaway:

Strawberry Kisses by Charlie Novak

StrawberryKisses-f900-web

Patrick’s To Do List:
1. Tell family I’m gay
2. Make giant cake for anniversary party
3. Convince Connor to be my fake boyfriend for the weekend
4. Try to keep my hands off Connor
5. Make sure Connor doesn’t find out I’ve been in love with him for the last three years

Connor’s Steps for Success:
1. Perfect pole routine for Chrome Stars
2. Continue search for perfect music
3. Survive weekend with Patrick’s family without mauling him while sharing a bed
4. Prevent feelings from exploding like a glitter bomb
5. Make sure Patrick doesn’t find out I’ve been in love with him forever

Strawberry Kisses is a 78,000 word standalone, contemporary MM romance featuring a sweet pastry chef, sassy pole dancer, a nosy but loving family, fabulous make-up, fluffy feels, and copious amounts of cake.

Universal Link

Goodreads

StrawberryKisses-Teaser1


Release Blitz Excerpt:

Connor

He tilted his head slightly, and suddenly his lips met mine in a gentle kiss. It was almost uncertain, and for a fraction of a second, my body stilled as it tried to process what the fuck was going on. Except I couldn’t process anything. I could barely even breathe because Patrick was kissing me.

Patrick was kissing me.

His lips were warm and soft and more perfect than anything I’d ever felt. I wanted to live in this moment forever or encase it in my memory so I’d never forget it.

My mouth pressed back against his. Time slowed to a crawl.

And then the kiss was over and nothing in the world would ever be the same again.

I stared at him as we broke apart. My heart was racing, my mouth opening and then closing again as no words came out. I couldn’t believe he’d kissed me. Especially here, in front of his entire family.

And now I had to pretend my entire universe hadn’t just exploded into a billion new star systems and that this was a totally normal and absolutely non-special thing because Patrick and I kissed all the time. I mean, we were dating, why wouldn’t we suck face at every possible opportunity?

Except that sounded weird and gross because that was exactly the opposite of what had just happened.

Sure, I wouldn’t turn down the opportunity to make out with Patrick. And if that happened to come with a side of groping, grinding, and getting naked, I would be starkers before you could say go. But that kiss was different; it was tender and affectionate. The sort of kiss you might give someone you loved…

Which made my head spin even more because that made no flipping sense.

StrawberryKisses-Teaser2


Enter the Giveaway:

To celebrate Charlie's new release, we are giving 2 lucky winners the chance to win e-copy of Strawberry Kisses directly to their Kindle and 1 lucky winner will win a $20/£20 Amazon Gift Card & a e-copy of Strawberry Kisses!

Enter the Rafflecopter giveaway for your chance to win!

A Rafflecopter Giveaway

Direct Link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/cc0f2a5797/?

Tagline


Charlie Roundfinal

About the Author:

Charlie lives in England with her husband and a dachshund named Biscuit. She spends most of her days wrangling other people’s words in her day job and then trying to force her own onto the page in the evening.

She loves cute stories with a healthy dollop of fluff, plenty of delicious sex, and happily ever afters — because the world needs more of them. Charlie also believes that loves comes in all shapes and sizes.

Charlie has very little spare time, but what she does have she fills with cooking, pole-dancing, reading and ice-hockey. She also thinks that everyone should have at least one favourite dinosaur…

Connect with Charlie:

Website: https://charlienovak.com/
Newsletter https://charlienovak.com/newsletter-sign-up/
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/charlienovakauthor/
Bookbub https://www.bookbub.com/profile/charlie-novak
Twitter https://twitter.com/charlienwrites
Instagram https://www.instagram.com/charlienwrites/
Facebook Group, Charlie's Angels https://www.facebook.com/groups/charlienovaksangels/


grr-tours-promo


Strawberry KissesStrawberry Kisses by Charlie Novak
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

What I liked about Strawberry Kisses is Patrick's family was so acceptable about him coming out and waited for Patrick to announce his relationship with Connor.
I'm in a verge of hating a particular boy with make-up these days (don't ask), but Connor is so adorable it was hard not to like him. Besides, Patrick loved him for like 30 second after he met Connor.
Two idiots indeed, because instead of say the words, they're keeping a silence.
But thanks to Patrick's family gathering, and the support of his family, they're finally open up.
This was nice in the beginning, but kinda a little bit downhill and dragged in the middle.'-
The story idea is a little cliché, but yeah, since we need this kind of sweetness, Patrick and Connor were entertaining.
And the Epilogue was great, because, who wouldn't want a HEA in this world of uncertainty?
Read this book!

View all my reviews

Wednesday, 28 October 2020

BLOG POST & REVIEW: Liars by Lucy Lennox & May Archer

 Liars Banner(1)

Release Blitz, Excerpt & Giveaway:
Fakers by Lucy Lennox & May Archer

119601995_839726990167138_3284548560272934466_n

A Licking Thicket Novel, Book 2

 
Parrish Partridge’s True Facts:

There’s nothing hotter than a tall, gruff, bewildered, tattooed mountain of a man cuddling a sweet, orphaned baby, so you can tell yourself that you’ll resist him...

But that’s a lie.

And when that man asks you to do him a favor and pretend to be his very temporary, very fake fiance to help him get custody of that adorable baby, you can pretend you know better than to say yes…

But that’s a lie, too.

And when you actually get to know your kind, strong, pullet-loving prince of a fiance, and all his crazy, lovable, meddling neighbors, you can tell yourself you’re not really falling for Diesel Church and the town of Licking Thicket…

But that might be the biggest lie of all.

Universal Link

 
LIARS1 
 Excerpt :

A bloodcurdling wail echoed through the little stairwell, and I froze for a second, then rushed headlong down the steps two at a time, skidding to a halt halfway down the staircase when I found the source of the sound—a wriggling baby in a fuzzy pink sweater who was literally crying herself purple, possibly because the giant, tattooed mountain of a man holding her was growling down at her with a ferocious scowl on his face.  

I gripped my folder tightly and opened my mouth to protest even though the guy was twice my size, when the baby’s cries quieted for half a second and I caught that the man wasn’t growling. He was… singing?

“Something… sunshine. Only sunshine. You make me happy. Something gray? Christ.” He heaved a frustrated sigh. “Marigold, you’ve got to stop now. You’ve made your point. Be reasonable, baby girl.”

Oh. Oh, good gravy. That changed everything.

I caught my breath and stared. The man looked like he’d been torn off the stage at a rock concert, transported to Nowhere, Tennessee, and stuffed into the outfit I once wore to a middle school dance. There was no other explanation for a guy with overlong brown-blond hair, graceful black inked scrolls emerging from the collar of his wrinkled, blue button-down shirt, shiny Dockers that clung to his tree-trunk thighs, and black steel-toed boots to have appeared in this stairwell. I sure as heck hadn’t seen any other guys in this neck of the woods who were so unapologetically themselves.

And if that weren’t enough to pierce my heart, the kidlet in his arms was gorgeous, despite her tears and wiggling. She had a head full of dark curls, way more than should have been possible for a baby her age, which I’d peg at somewhere around nine months—somewhere past the shriveled-potato stage of early infancy but not nearly at the terrifying walking age.

The baby wailed again, and the giant looked genuinely panicked. He held her flat across his outstretched forearms, like he was carrying a box of pizza or helping her learn the backstroke, and he bent his knees in a kind of next-level Oompa Loompa jig in time to his stammered singing. A pink-and-white striped tote bag sat on the floor next to the wall.

“Work with me, Marigold, okay? You’re not hungry, ’cause you just drank ten gallons of formula. You’re not stinky…” He lifted the kid gingerly. “Not stinky,” he confirmed in a deep, raspy voice that did things to me. “Are you having an existential crisis? Is that a thing kids do? Do you need alone time? Are your lips chapped? Do you hate my cologne?”

The baby fussed harder, flailing her tiny feet. The man groaned, and I belatedly noticed one of those pacifier stuffed animal things lying on the floor by the giant’s boot.

I scurried down the stairs and picked it up. “I think she might be looking for this,” I said, holding it aloft. It was a gray-and-white polka-dotted chicken with a green sucker on the end.

The guy shut his eyes and shook his head. “Ah, shit.”

His eyes popped open in shock as he realized what he’d said, and he looked from me to the kid guiltily. “Fuck, forget I said that,” he muttered.

His eyes widened further. “Goddamn it all.”

I snickered. “Maybe quit while you’re ahead?”

 
LIARS2

Enter the Giveaway:

To celebrate Lucy & May's release, we are giving away 3 eBook sets of Fakers & Liars!
 Enter the Rafflecopter giveaway for your chance to win!
 
 
Direct Link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/cc0f2a5791/?
 
LIARS5 LIARS3

About the Authors

Lucy Lennox Logo
 
About Lucy:
 
After enjoying creative writing as a child, Lucy didn’t write her first novel until she was over 40 years old. Her debut novel, Borrowing Blue, was published in the autumn of 2016. Lucy has an English Literature degree from Vanderbilt University, but that doesn’t hold a candle to the years and years of staying up all night reading tantalizing novels on her own. She has three children, plays tennis, and hates folding laundry. While her husband is no shmoopy romance hero, he is very good at math, cooks a mean lasagne, has gorgeous eyes, looks hot in his business clothes, and makes her laugh every single day.
 
Lucy hopes you enjoy sexy heroes as much as she does. Happy reading!
 
 

May Archer Logo
 
About May:
 
May is an M/M author who lives in Boston. She spends her days raising three incredibly sarcastic children, finding inventive ways to drive her husband crazy, planning beach vacations, avoiding the gym, reading M/M romance, and occasionally writing it. She also writes MF romance as Maisy Archer.
 
 

grr-tours-promo

Liars (Licking Thicket, #2)Liars by Lucy Lennox
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Who said starting a good strong relationship couldn't be started with a lie? At least in Diesel and Parrish life. For a good cause, a little girl names Marigold.
I remember Diesel who's flirting with Mal in the first book of this series. I knew he has a story to tell, and what a story it was!
Diesel's background was not pretty like Parrish. But Parrish had his bitter story to tell as well. Both weee found each other at the right time, the right place, the right reasons, but a wrong start, a lie.
Liars are funny, adorable, sweet, heartbreaking yet a heartwarming story, like everyone in Licking Thicket does.
Diesel and Parrish and their little girl were lucky having all the support system they need in the little town.
I really enjoyed this book, and all of the town members. Including Dunn and Tucker, the obvious idiots who'll get their own story next! Cannot wait!
This series is a gem. Recommended!

View all my reviews

Thursday, 22 October 2020

Lacuna by NR Walker (with review)


Lacuna | NR Walker

Genre: LGBT Fantasy/Gay Fiction

Release date: October 23, 2020

Tropes: Enemies-to-lovers, action and adventure, swords and sorcery, romance

Amazon Universal: http://mybook.to/Lacuna

Synopsis:

A boychild swathed in green, a distinct tree-shaped birthmark on his wrist. A girlchild enveloped in red, marked with the three lines of the desert winds. A boy bundled in white, the koi mark on his wrist as defined as his shock of red hair. And a boychild wrapped in black, a raven his mark to serve his fate.

* * *

Twenty-five years ago, the hand of fate marked four newborns and sent them to the four corners of the Great Kingdoms. They were schooled and trained as rulers of their lands in preparation for the Golden Eclipse ceremony: a festival to celebrate a thousand years of peace and prosperity since the Great War.

Crow, ruler of Northlands, a skilled swordsman and expert tactician, is as reclusive and stoic as the mountains that surround him.

Tancho has spent his life in strict discipline, governing the Westlands with a fair mind and gentle hand. Quiet and unassuming, yet lethal in combat, he is the embodiment of the waters he lives by.

Yet the same hand of fate unknowingly linked Tancho to Crow in ways they cannot comprehend. Ruled by the stars, the Brother Sun and the two Sister Moons above them, and marked by an alchemical sorcery as old as time, their destinies were never their own.

As the eclipse draws near and the festival begins, word comes of another threat. Invaders from unknown lands bring a war no one was prepared for, and Crow and Tancho must decide on which side of the battle line they stand.

In life or death, their destinies will see them joined either way.




Excerpt:

Chapter One

The winter sun was at high noon, shining a spotlight on the two men sword-fighting in the open courtyard of the Northlands’ castle. Mirroring the rocky outcrops in the snowy landscape, black flags marked with a single white raven shimmered in the cool winds. Dark grey stone bricks gleamed as the sunlight turned icy frost into fleeting jewels, and the clang of metal on metal, grunts of effort, and bouts of laughter echoed skyward.

The broadsword grazed Crow’s cheek, the burn of sliced skin and a warm trickle of blood down his cheek made him smile. Soko paused for the briefest moment, horrified that he had struck his king. Crow used the moment of distraction and swung for his neck. Soko parried, and with another bark of laughter, the fight went on.

Plumes of steam escaped with every exhale, sweat cooled on heated skin. Crow’s dark hair was damp and clung to his pale face; his dark eyes sparkled with delight as they always did when he sparred with Soko. Friends since childhood, Crow trusted no one as he trusted Soko. Surrounded by consuls and guards and staff who abided by his every whim, he could count on Soko for his honesty and reason. He told him truths when no one else dared, and he never held back when they fenced or sparred, such as they were doing now.

Crow was bound by responsibility and duty, as kings often were. Even as a small boy, Crow had studied the ancient ways, the lore of his ancestors of the Northlands. Studied, trained, studied, trained when he’d have rather done anything else, and yet it was Soko who had willingly stood beside him. Brothers, even if there was not one drop of shared blood between them.

Soko’s hair was ashen blond and shaggy, his eyes blue and sharp. He had a smile of mischief and wit, a keen mind for learning and a keener eye for women, whereas Crow was dark and brooding, and his eye was drawn to the forms of men. Soko was free to act upon his impulses and there had never been a shortage of satisfied women in the Northlands’ castle, yet Crow had never been free.

Who wears the mark bears the crown . . .

Bound by responsibility and duty. And the birthmark on his wrist. Even the mere thought of it . . .

He hissed at the pain and dropped his sword, pulling at the leather wrist guard, fumbling to get the straps undone.

“What is it?” Soko asked, immediately concerned. “It itches still?”

“No,” Crow breathed. He finally pulled the guard from his arm and covered the birthmark with his cold fingers. “It burns.”

“Burns? What the—”

Just then, the heavy wooden doors to the courtyard swung inward. Soko spun into a ready stance with his sword raised to protect Crow, without fault, without question. The young messenger raised his hands in alarm, breathing hard, his eyes trained on the blade.

“What is it?” Soko demanded.

“Excuse me, my lord,” the messenger said, bowing his head to Crow. “A lone rider comes. At pace.”

A lone rider coming to the city was not uncommon. Villagers traded food and wares all the time. “What of it?” Crow asked, still clutching his wrist. “Why the urgency?”

The messenger swallowed hard. “The rider and horse bear the yellow flag of the Elders’ Consul.”

Soko lowered his sword and turned to Crow, his eyes wide and face ashen, for it could only mean one thing.

The birthmark on Crow’s wrist continued to burn.

* * *

Dressed now in warmer clothes, Crow and Soko stood at one of the grand hall windows watching as the yellow-clad rider made his way through the gates of the castle. Crow had his guards meet the man, one taking his horse, one escorting the rider inside, out of view, knowing it would take several minutes for the rider to be brought to see him.

Crow held his wrist, trying to ignore the burn.

“It’s never caused you pain before,” Soko noted. “And I don’t think a visit from the Elders’ Consul is a coincidence.”

Crow winced again and Soko took his hand, inspecting the birthmark. It looked as it always had; dark against his pale skin, oddly beautiful and abstract, the clear form of a raven in full flight, its wings outstretched. The mark which showed Crow’s predestined fate appeared no different; though it had begun to itch at the last full moons, now it burned like fire ants crawling beneath his skin.

Crow tugged his hand away and pulled down his coat sleeve. “I’m fine, and make no mention of it in front of company.”

After a brief pause, Soko sighed. “It’s time, isn’t it? That’s what this means? The festival draws near.”

Crow gave a nod before the sound of approaching footsteps put an end to this conversation. The two heavy doors opened and a guard appeared and bowed his head. “My lord, messenger of the Elders’ Consul.”

He stepped aside and the visitor strode forward. He wore the Consul’s yellow tunic under a heavy coat of the same colour, with the four-pointed compass rose emblazoned upon his chest. He appeared slightly dishevelled and tired, though he bowed his head. He produced a scroll from inside his coat pocket and offered it to Crow. “My lord.”

Crow took the paper from him but did not open it. “Your name?”

“Roulant,” he replied quickly.

“You’ve ridden far.”

“Six days.”

It was perhaps a seven- or eight-day ride to the Elders’ Consul temple, and the ride itself was not an easy one. Northlands was mountainous, rocky roads, and deep snow; hard and brutal land, almost as hard and brutal as the men and women who called it home. Given this rider had done it in six days meant there was urgency. “You rode alone?”

“Yes, my lord. Four riders sent to the four quarters.”

The Great Kingdoms had long ago been divided into four quarters. North, of mountains and snow. West, of oceans and rivers. East, of jungles and forests, and South of desert sands and dunes. At its centre, was the Aequi Kentron; a huge moated temple of sorts, where the Elders’ Consul presides, upholding the law of the four lands and keeping score.

Formed a thousand years ago after the Great War, nine high priests protected the ancient ways and traditions, ensuring laws remained unbroken and territory borders intact. They overlooked the trade between kingdoms and ensured fairness at every turn, and the last thousand years had been peaceful and prosperous.

Steeped in history and tradition, and by definition the equal centre, Aequi Kentron was the heart of all four kingdoms.

Each of the four rulers was chosen at birth by the birthmark on their wrist. They would each rule their lands independently and in their own right, with their own laws and governance, yet there were some laws they could not ignore.

The law that stated when each ruler was beckoned, they would come.

The law was written when the Consul was established, that when the Brother Sun and the two Sister Moons aligned at the equinox, they would partake in the Festival of the Eclipse. They would abide with honour and with the dignity of the rank they held.

Crow was proud of his title, proud of his people, and he would lay his life down for his kingdom. And he should have been proud to be the chosen one in the time of the eclipse. Once every thousand years and it happened in his lifetime, his rule. Yet destiny was a weight like no other, and unease filled his belly for reasons he couldn’t put name to. The fact his birthmark now caused him pain was one he couldn’t ignore, and now with the news from Aequi Kentron, it could only mean one thing.

His time was now.

Realisation skittered down Crow’s spine like a cold spider. So, it was time. Every arrow of his life was pointed to this. He gave a reluctant nod and turned to the guard. “See this man to hot food and warm quarters, and see that his horse is tended to.”

Roulant’s gaze shot up to Crow’s. “My lord, I am thankful.”

“As am I.” Crow gave him a smile. “Eat and rest as you need.”

Roulant gave another nod of gratitude, and he was escorted out by the guard. Soko waited patiently as Crow held the scroll. There was a wax seal atop the Consul’s writing in old calligraphy ink.

King of Northlands

Crow slid his finger beneath the seal and unrolled the thick paper. At the centre top was the Consul’s four-pointed compass rose stamped in blue ink. The writing was impeccably neat, the strokes delivered with such importance not even the ink dared to bleed.

Your Royal Highness, King Crow of Northlands,

The Eclipse befalls on the Equinox in your twenty-fifth year.

Your attendance is formally requested at the Aequi Kentron one week before the Equinox, for the festival of the Golden Age.

We eagerly await your arrival.

Crow read it again, then handed it to Soko who read it, frowning. “What does this mean?”

Crow stared out the window at the snow-covered valley below, at how the blackened rocky crags tore raggedly through the serene whiteness looking like open claw marks in flesh.

“I ride for Aequi Kentron in two days,” Crow replied.

Soko’s eyes hardened. “You will not ride alone.”

Crow almost smiled at that. “I didn’t think I would.”

“And the eclipse?”

“A golden sun for a golden age,” he replied with a sigh, turning back to stare out the window. “My birthright is finally upon me.”

Soko’s voice was quiet, as though he dreaded to hear what he already knew. “What will you do?”

Crow took a long moment to answer. Was it fear or dread? Acceptance or resignation? “My choice in this was long ago removed,” he murmured, finally meeting Soko’s eyes. “I will attend their festival, and when all the fanfare and nonsense is done, I will return as if nothing has occurred.”

“It’s supposed to be a celebration,” Soko replied. “Yet it hangs over you like a dark cloud.”

Crow sighed. He would have quite happily been left alone for all his days, but this felt different. This felt ominous and he couldn’t explain why. “True metal does not fear the furnace,” he murmured.

It was a favoured Northlands saying, cited by the miners who dug ore from frozen mountains and by the blacksmiths who turned it into steel.

Yet Crow feared . . . something. He feared this festival and ceremony; he feared the change he felt would rise with the golden sun. He feared the unknown.

And he feared the greasy dread in his belly and the burn on his wrist that told him his life was about to change forever.

N.R. Walker Bio

N.R. Walker is an Australian author, who loves her genre of gay romance. She loves writing and spends far too much time doing it, but wouldn’t have it any other way.

She is many things: a mother, a wife, a sister, a writer. She has pretty, pretty boys who live in her head, who don’t let her sleep at night unless she gives them life with words.

She likes it when they do dirty, dirty things… but likes it even more when they fall in love.

She used to think having people in her head talking to her was weird, until one day she happened across other writers who told her it was normal.

She’s been writing ever since…

Keep up with everything NR Walker here:https://smart.bio/nrwalkerauthor/

LacunaLacuna by N.R. Walker
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

OMG! For someone who's rarely read fantasy, I cannot put this book down! Hands down Nic Walker's variety genres are something I'm going to wait to read in the future!
Crazy about The Untamed on Netflix, Lacuna brought me to another adventure with Crow and Tancho and the whole gang!
I don't want to bother you with a retelling the story, you need to experience it first hand with them.
Just hoping that kind of 'door' exist in real life so we don't need to fly to go everywhere lol.
I enjoyed the banter, the fight, the bonding between Tancho and Crow.
This is the kind of book that a fantasy lover will treasure for a long time, and a movie material too!
Buy the book!

View all my reviews

Friday, 16 October 2020

Cover Reveal It's Not You by Becca Seymour

 It's Not You Banner

Cover Reveal, Excerpt & Giveaway:

It's Not You by Becca Seymour

IT'S NOT YOU_forjpegs

True Blue, Book 5

When a protective ex-cop helps his gorgeous tenant through his recovery, their complicated history is asking for trouble. Will the fear of the past repeating itself destroy any possibility of happiness?

Daredevil drifter Lawrence Crawford is hunting for a place to call home. After ten years of looking, he believes he’s found what he’s been searching for. With a job that pays the bills and a small group of friends he’s opening up to, he lets down his guard. Perhaps too much so. Finding himself in need of support, Lawrence is forced to accept help from the one man who’s been driving him to distraction for the past year. His landlord.

Former cop Billy Hilton made a mistake—admittedly there’ve been many over the years. The latest is when he lets Lawrence believe he isn’t interested in pursuing anything with him. It’s not even the age difference or the fact the guy lives in Billy’s studio apartment that’s the problem. Instead, it’s all him. When Billy offers to play nursemaid to Lawrence, his intentions may not be pure, but they’re honest. And that honesty blows their lives wide open when Lawrence’s past comes knocking on the door, demanding changes and threatening an upheaval neither man may ever recover from.

Book five in Becca Seymour’s stand-alone low-angst, feel-good LGBTQ series, True-blue. In this small town, there are busybodies, dogs who cause chaos, families who have the “best” of timing, and opportunities for good men to find their perfect match.

Coming November 28!

Pre-Order Universal Link

Goodreads

INY 5 melty bones

Excerpt:

Straightening up, I tensed, knowing this look, and even without his words, I latched on to the steel needed to protect myself, arm myself for whatever he would say.

“Lawrence.” The hardness of my name sounded strange compared to the soft gasps and groans I’d heard him say it with but a few short hours ago. “I….” Billy worked his jaw, before it fixed in a determined grimace. “I have things to do today. I was just coming to get changed.”

“Okay…,” I said slowly, trailing off and hoping he’d see that as an invite for an explanation or an invite. Even though the latter would have knocked me off my feet in surprise.

His eyes connected with mine. The warmth of last night was long gone. “I shouldn’t have let last night happen. I’d had too much to drink, and it was wrong of me to take advantage of you like that.”

As he spoke, my brows dipped. Take advantage? Since I’d been cold sober, wasn’t I the one who would have technically taken advantage since he’d been the one drinking?

I opened my mouth to speak, but didn’t have the chance as he continued, “It was a mistake. I’m sorry. It won’t happen again. The last thing I want is to make this awkward or difficult for you, so I’ll be sure to stay out of your way.”

There was no opportunity to respond, to question or challenge or even call bullshit. He strode past me, this time his gaze resolutely not on me, and left me alone in his kitchen.

The ball previously growing in my gut maxed out, forming uncomfortably and weighing heavy. I swallowed my hurt and confusion, willing the steel to form quicker, desperate for it to be fully erected so I could walk away and not look back.

Putting one foot in front of the other, I kept my eyes on the exit, focused on slowing my breathing.

This would not break me. I clasped the door handle, ignoring the memory of his sweet words and gentle caresses.

This would not define me. I quietly pulled the door closed behind me, belatedly realizing I was barefoot but no way was I heading back inside. As I stepped into the morning sunshine, I tried to erase the hours of time we’d spent together over the past few months getting to know one another.

And this most definitely would not be the reason I was run out of town again.

Resolved, I didn’t look back as I headed toward the one-bedroom apartment I rented from Billy, situated above his garage. Last night had been a mistake all right. And there wasn’t a chance I’d allow that to happen again.

INY 3 distraction


Enter the Giveaway:

To celebrate Becca's Cover Reveal, we are giving readers the chance to win 1 of 3 e-copies of True Blue Book 1: Let Me Show You!

Enter the Rafflecopter giveaway for your chance to win!

A Rafflecopter Giveaway

Direct Link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/cc0f2a5784/?


Becca Seymour Author Profile

About the Author:

Becca Seymour lives and breathes all things book related. Usually with at least three books being read and two WiPs being written at the same time, life is merrily hectic. She tends to do nothing by halves so happily seeks the craziness and busyness life offers.

Living on her small property in Queensland with her human family as well as her animal family of cows, chooks, and dogs, Becca appreciates the beauty of the world around her and is a believer that love truly is love.

Connect with Becca:
https://twitter.com/beccaseymour_
https://www.facebook.com/beccaseymourauthor/
https://beccaseymour.com
https://www.instagram.com/authorbeccaseymour/
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/18745264.Becca_Seymour
https://www.bookbub.com/authors/becca-seymour
https://www.amazon.com/Becca-Seymour/e/B07NYXX6JP
Newsletter: https://landing.mailerlite.com/webforms/landing/r9f0i4


grr-tours-promo